Wasted day’s and Wasted nights- “Sunday Mornin Reflections” with E. Michelle Lee Exceptions-PR With A Purpose

As I share my reflections with you each week on early Sunday Mornings before I head out to the best house on the street to meet; The Good Lord’s House. I hope to share some things with you that will help you have a better week next week.

     Sunday Mornins is my time with you to encourage you to reflect on your past week and analyze it,to learn from it, and to better plan for your upcoming week.

     Absorb and release- change-improve, move more efficiently to accomplish more than you expected from yourself last week. As you grow towards your goals this week coming think back to the week you just finished. Name 3 things that come to your mind right off the bat. Write them down in your journal.

     Take time to reflect on your past weeks daily activities from work to play. Do it every week so you can keep trotting ahead like a champion.

     Reflecting to projecting. That’s the way to make your life stronger, wiser, and to have a clearer site for your path ahead by breaking it down to one week at a time.

This weeks Sunday morning Reflections with: E. Michelle Lee/ subject: Wasted days and wasted nights

So how do you know if what you are doing is a waste of time?

 

 

 

It’s a thin line between love and hate.  The Good Book tells us to minister to folks constantly.  To forgive them when they spitefully use us.  And forever more to love them and continue to do good without becoming weary of doing good towards humankind.

     However, in context, and we all know folks fall out of being in context when reading and using scripture to defend and justify their decisions and actions; the Bible also tells us to be prudent in all matters especially with out time. Psalm’s 90:12 tells us to learn how to number out days.  That’s right, even though we know not the end of our days, we need to be accountable to know that our time is precious.  We each have the same amount of time everyday; what we do with it and what we allow others to do with it is our responsibility.

This past week, as I had shut down ALL activities that did not relate to my task at hand (finishing my first book as a published author); I realized I wasted a lot of time on things that did not matter in the end to the publishing of my book: “Exceptions To The Rules- Are you one? You Can BE!”.  I allowed others to dictate to me where my time should be spent to promote this book launch.  I am guilty of following the protocol for online social media.  Now in hindsight, I have to analyze; did my efforts produce the end result I desired? NO, in fact; I wasted a lot of time expecting others to promote my launch as I have promoted many things for them in past. 

     Now don’t get me wrong, there is a place for social media.  But you have to take that in stride and within context.  Plus, when you decide to do anything you have to learn the balance between the right and wrong way.  Whether you believe it or not, the Bible offers many truths and successful ways of conducting your life.  Some of the most successful men and women in business are spoken of in the Bible.  As King Solomon once said, “There is nothing new under the sun” (Ecclesiastes 1:9
The thing that hath been, it is that which shall be; and that which is done is that which shall be done: and there is no new thing under the sun. )

    Oh, yes, the time changes, the culture changes, the things that we have changes; but nothing is really NEW.  How does that make sense?  Well, here goes my best shot at that:  While all these things change, but are yet not NEW; the core principles behind the “new item” of discussion has already been thought of, written about, and thus told of old how we should approach life with that matter.  Seriously, anything that you have a question about can be answered in the Bible. 

    Just like styles repeat themselves answers to our questions have been asked from the beginning of time.  So when we ask ourselves what are we supposed to do with our time and how we allow others to use it; we can consult the Good Book to find out.  Our days are definitely numbered and our time is most precious as we never know when it is up.  Decide today for your better tomorrow that you will use your time more wisely and require others to do the same.

     One of the most hurtful things that happened to me this week outside of the no response from those who have used my time to promote themselves but would not promote my book launch this week; was when this one individual who wanted to take my time picking my brain.  He ask me at a most inconvenient time, without consideration of my pressed time; if I would help him learn what to do with his goal for a particular venture of his.  Now mind you, I have shut down everything to focus on the one task I was to accomplish.  I sacrificed my other responsibilities like the three other segments of my business, my house cleaning (so hate dishes), walks with my dog, attending activities, and yada yada.  But still; I was willing to help.

  Then, I learned instantly, how I wasted my time even considering to help.  With one action, requesting the help of several on my FB friends list; I found out how quickly others will bite you when it doesn’t benefit them.  Of forty-six friends out of 531 that I tagged on the picture of my book to allow me to post the launch on their wall; he was the only one who sent a note to ask me to remove him from the tagged photo so it would not show up on his wall. Really?  I thought. Amazing. Well, I did say, in my description on the post, ” IF you are not OK with me posting this on your wall; please let me know and I will remove you.”  So of course I removed him instantly.  Funny, isn’t. The ones who ask of your time will shout the loudest when you ask for theirs?  I was not asking him to endorse my book at that time; I was simply asking friends to allow me to advertise. I always ask permission while posting on someone’s wall on FB; it’s the right thing to do.  But for goodness sakes, I never imagined a response like that from someone who wanted my time to learn from me; to say NO.

     So, you see, when you consider how precious your time is; then you should count it all joy to spend your time on the right things and not waste it on things that don’t matter in the end.  Your time coming this week can be balanced if you take the time today to find that balance based on your previous weeks time spent.

Have a blessed week and remember that your litmus test for how to spend your time in your life, the world today, and for tomorrows future is in your hands.

If ya need a little help. Be sure to call upon me. thank ya for stopping by this week. If you have a subject you would like for me to discuss. Leave a comment below or feel free to email me at contact@ExceptionsToTheRules.com

Ya’ll come back now-

If you need the help from a down to earth business consultant who will work her tail off for you.  Contact me only if you are willing to do your part too!

Contact@ExceptionsToTheRules.com

Follow me on twitter @ExceptionsBE

Face Book me at “PR With A PUrpose”

 

Leave a Reply

