“Sunday Mornin Reflections” with E. Michelle Lee Exceptions-PR With A Purpose: Special Edition-Mother’s Day

https://exceptionstotherules.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/mlee-ceo-exceptionstotherules-image-cup-of-joe.jpgAs I share my reflections with you each week on early Sunday Mornings before I head out to the best house on the street to meet; The Good Lord’s House. I hope to share some things with you that will help you have a better week next week.

     Sunday Mornins is my time with you to encourage you to reflect on your past week and analyze it,to learn from it, and to better plan for your upcoming week.

     Absorb and release- change-improve, move more efficiently to accomplish more than you expected from yourself last week. As you grow towards your goals this week coming, think back to the week you just finished. Name 3 things that come to your mind right off the bat. Write them down in your journal.

     Take time to reflect on your past weeks daily activities from work to play. Do it every week so you can keep trotting ahead like a champion.

     Reflecting to projecting. That’s the way to make your life stronger, wiser, and to have a clearer site for your path ahead by breaking it down to one week at a time.

This weeks “Sunday Mornin Reflections” with: E. Michelle Lee/ subject: Special Edition- “Mothers Day” Ann Marie Jarvis Reeves- The Mother in “Mother’s Day”

From the WV Archives and History website we learn that, “Ann Maria Reeves Jarvis’ work with women’s organizations inspired the creation of Mother’s Day as a national holiday.”

Please see the end of this blog for all links:

Mother’s Day is definitely a wonderful time to draw close to those who are still with us and remember those who are not.  In celebration of Mother’s Day I have provided my readers with some interesting facts, links, pictures, and inspiration continue reading for more……………….

Ann Maria Reeves Jarvis- WV history site

http://www.wvculture.org/history/jarvis.html

Ann Jarvis’ life revolved around the church.  Ann Jarvis organized a Mothers’ Friendship Day at the courthouse in Pruntytown to bring together soldiers and neighbors of all political beliefs.  Ann Jarvis urged the Mothers’ Day Work Clubs to declare their neutrality and provide relief to both Union and Confederate soldiers.  What started out as a small jester quickly widespread to the point Ann had wished she had never created the holiday.   She even tried to have it abolished all together until she died on May 9th, 1908.  She pulled a Jesus on them when she threw all kinda cane a huffin and puffin at the officials for allowing the Mother’s Day  holiday to become such a commercialized misfit. 

Her daughter Anna led a small tribute to her mother at Andrews Methodist Church on May 12, 1907, and dedicated her life to establishing a nationally recognized Mother’s Day.

President Woodrow Wilson signed a Congressional Resolution setting aside Mother’s Day as a national holiday to be celebrated on the second Sunday in May. In 1952 after the death of Anna the daughter of the Mother’s Day founder in 1948. (as cited at WV A& H 2012)

Please be sure to check out the links I provided below to get the full story. Much of the information provided here has been excerpted from the reliable authoritarian sources connected to the links. There’s more to the story too, very courageous woman that Ann Jarvis.  It is no wonder that her daughter Anna followed in her footsteps.  Although Ann was a hard act to follow for anyone; Anna did her best to set the legacy we know today as Mother’s Day.

I myself have had the opportunity to have more than one Mother.  Having been adopted internally by my family; I had the chance to spend time with about 3-4 different women role models in my life (a.k.a some body else s Mom).  Much like Anna did by taking characteristics of herself from the teachings of her Mother Ann Jarvis; I too took upon the image of those who raised me.

As I reflect back at all of the teaching, nurturing, correction, inspection, supportive, encouraging, and courageous lessons that each of these women took the time to share with me as their daughter; I see the woman I have become and it ain’t half bad.  We should all continually seek to improve upon our character and stand firm in the beliefs that we have be trained in and have established our faith and hope in. The things Mothers pass on to us whether they are our Mothers or not remain with us all our days.

6 Children, obey your parents in the Lord: for this is right.

Honour thy father and mother; which is the first commandment with promise;

That it may be well with thee, and thou mayest live long on the earth.

The First Commandment with promise: Honor your father and your mother, so that you may live long in the land the LORD your God is giving you.” (Exo 20:12)

Mothers Day Quotes 5-13-12

Retrieved on: 5-13-12 from: http://rootsbd.com/events/mothers-day-2012/mothers-day-2012-quotes-top-50-famous-sayings-about-motherhood/

 

A mother’s love is patient and forgiving when all others are forsaking, it never fails or falters, even though the heart is breaking – Helen Rice

My mother was the most beautiful woman I ever saw. All I am I owe to my mother. I attribute all my success in life to the moral, intellectual and physical education I received from her.                     – George Washington

 

Becoming a mother makes you the mother of all children. From now on each wounded, abandoned, frightened child is yours. You live in the suffering mothers of every race and creed and weep with them. You long to comfort all who are desolate.                                    – Charlotte Gray

Retrieved on 5-13-12 from: http://www.boardofwisdom.com/Default.asp?topic=1005&listname=Mothers%20Day

 M-O-T-H-E-R
“M” is for the million things she gave me,
“O” means only that she’s growing old,
“T” is for the tears she shed to save me,
“H” is for her heart of purest gold;
“E” is for her eyes, with love-light shining,
“R” means right, and right she’ll always be,
Put them all together, they spell “MOTHER,”
A word that means the world to me.

– Howard Johnson

Have a blessed week and remember Mothers are God’s gifts to us.

If ya need a little help. Be sure to call upon me. thank ya for stopping by this week. If you have a subject you would like for me to discuss. Leave a comment below or feel free to email me at contact@ExceptionsToTheRules.com

Ya’ll come back now-

If you need the help from a down to earth business consultant who will work her tail off for you.  Contact me only if you are willing to do your part too!

Contact@ExceptionsToTheRules.com

Follow me on twitter @ExceptionsBE

Face Book me at “PR With A PUrpose”

SONG OF THE WEEK: The Prayer- Celine Dion and Andrea Bocelli, : E. Michelle Lee’s YOUTUBE CHANNEL BackToTheBasicOfLife-  (please remember to subscribe and leave your comments) :-) Thank

copy and past:

youhttp://www.youtube.com/user/BackToTheBasicofLife?feature=mhee

5 responses to ““Sunday Mornin Reflections” with E. Michelle Lee Exceptions-PR With A Purpose: Special Edition-Mother’s Day

  1. Hershel Cooke

    I feel one of your advertisements triggered my internet browser to resize, you might well want to get that on your blacklist.

  2. Hi Hershal, I am not sure what you mean about an advertisement triggering your internet browser to resize. Please provide more info. Thanks Michelle

  3. Hello there! This blog post could not be written much better! Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this. I will forward this post to him. Pretty sure he’s going to have a very good read. I appreciate you for sharing!

  4. Excellent site you’ve got here.. It�s hard to find quality writing like yours nowadays. I seriously appreciate people like you! Take care!!

Leave a Reply

