Sunday Morning Reflections with E. Michelle Lee, this weeks subject Talent- Use it or loose it

 As I share my reflections with you each week on early Sunday Mornings before I head out to the best house on the street to meet; the Good Lord’s House.  It’s my time with you to encourage you to reflect on your past week and analyze it to better plan for your upcoming week. Absorb and release- change-improve, move efficiently to accomplish more than you expect as you grow towards your goal.  Take time to reflect on your past weeks daily activities from work to play every week so you can keep trotting ahead like a champion.

Reflecting to projecting. That’s the way to make your life stronger, wiser, and to have a clearer site for your path ahead by breaking it down to one week at a time.

This weeks Sunday morning Reflections with: E. Michelle Lee/ subject: Talent Use it or lose it

Do you know what talents you have? Have you ever thought about it?  It takes talent to do all things you do. And too much whom is given, much is expected. Let’s look back at your week to identify your talents so you can start targeting them and using them to have more success in your week to come.

from http://www.dictionary.com

tal·ent

   [tal-uhnt] Show IPA

noun

1.a special natural ability or aptitude:

2. a capacity for achievement or success; ability

Origin:
before 900; Middle English, Old English talente  < Latin talenta,  plural of talentum  < Greek tálanton  balance, weight, monetary unit

Synonyms
1.  capability, gift, genius. See ability.

When you recognize your talents you can focus your ability to grow them as you should continue reading to learn how to recognize and focus your talents and gifts

Seriously, what would you try to do?  Think about it for a minute and right down all the things you wished you could do.

Now look back at your week and see the different times you hesitated to do something because you felt you didn’t have the skills, know-how, education, talent, and means to complete the projects you were working on. I bet you just realized you missed out on a lot of stuff because you didn’t use the talents you got or the ones you don’t know you got, huh?

As I reflected on my own week; I looked back and realized that sometimes we lose our talents when we don’t use our talents. Whether it’s because we are afraid or have not taken the time to recognize our talents and gifts makes no difference. We lose if we don’t use.

Every one has talents and gifts. Some more than others. As a multi talented person; I hide or at least do not share as oft as I should, my talents. Why?  Because of haters. Yep, sad but true. I suppress a lot of my own talent because others seem to think I think I’m a know it all. I don’t know it all yet. LOL said with love.  I have so much more to learn. It’s just that as a multi-talented person many people don’t get it; including myself. As to what we can accomplish and with what we already possess. 

But then I started thinking about loosing my talents and not accomplishing what I have set out to do to help others. I have been given many talents so much is expected of me. And, I should not be ashamed of having so much talent. Instead I should embrace it and multiply it as is expected of me.

While the good book tells the story of talents in the form of money given to each of the servants. Jesus is talking about talents and gifts in general. As we are aware He always spake lessons of life in generalist format and parables to express the story so we could understand. He wasn’t just talking about money. He was talking about all things that God gives each of us as our contribution to life in the form of gifts and talents that would help us live out our purpose with the abilities that He gave us just because.

You see, God gives everyone talents and gifts; it’s how we use them that counts. If we have 5 then we should multiply them to 10. If we only have one; we should at the least increase it to two. You follow me?

Understanding your talent and gifts helps you to plan where you spend your time at, where you project your passion, who you help, what you do to make life different, and so much more.  It’s your responsibility to analyze your checklist of talents and gifts. It’s your duty to use all you got to get what you need, till you get to where you are supposed to be!

I best understood being a multifaceted/ talented person when I stumbled upon an interview by Charlie Rose with Jane Fonda on PBS. She said, “I learn all the time”. http://www.charlierose.com/view/interview/11846 (at 39:00) I want to try new things, do new things, never stop……””  That’s the secret to being multi-talented and constant and never ending growth. Take heed readers.

Now while I don’t agree with all that anybody else does or stands for; I do believe that we all have been given these things by the same God. He gives us the tools and skills we need as individuals to accomplish life in our own unique way.  If we chose not to recognize Him or do His will with those talents. He does not take away our gifts. Everybody has something to contribute with what they already have inside.

Each year I have a theme to live my life on purpose. 2012 is no different. This years theme:

“You have everything you need to succeed deep down inside of you, dig a little deeper”, (E.Michelle Lee (2012)

Go back, look at your past week. Identify the talents you already have, that you didn’t use this week when you needed to, that would have helped you to do your work, play, and homage to your purpose in life and plan to use them this coming week. I bet you will be able to accomplish more than you did this past week because you used your God-given talents and gifts.

Try giving Him thanks for it. And watch how you will soar.

Until next week, have a blessed week.

Luv , Chelle

2 responses to “Sunday Morning Reflections with E. Michelle Lee, this weeks subject Talent- Use it or loose it

  1. Steve Biffle

    Good words of encouragement!! We all need to realize we’ve got a lot more to give and a lot more abilities to use!!

  2. Thanks Pastor Steve for stopping by and taking a look. I appreciate your comment. Regards, Michelle

Leave a Reply

